Tuesday, 1 December 2020

Common Eligibility Test

BITA (Banking Institute & TNPSC Academy)

NRA CET (Common Eligibility Test)

NRA CET Exam 2021: Highlights

The first NRA CET CBT is likely to be conducted in 2021.

The full form of CET is the Common Eligibility Test which is going to be conducted by the NRA (National Recruitment Agency).

Exam Name

NRA CET (National Recruitment Agency Common Eligibility Test)

Conducting Body

NRA (National Recruitment Agency)

Exam Level


Exam Date

September, 2021

Exam Mode

Online only

Frequency of Exam Duration

Twice a year

Score Validity

3 years

Exam Purpose

Selection of candidates for various Group-B and -C non-technical posts

No.of Languages


Official Website

to be updated

Exams To Be Replaced By The CET

As discussed earlier, the NRA will replace the Staff Selection Commission, Railways Recruitment Board & other such Govt exam conducting bodies for the conduction of preliminary test or the screening/shortlisting test only. The final appointment or the selection will be carried out through a domain-specific exam to be conducted by respective agencies (i.e. SSC/RRB/IBPS). The CET will replace the examinations from agencies:

A. Staff Selection Commission

The SSC conducts various crucial examinations for students hailing from different educational backgrounds like class 10th, class 12th, and graduate level. These various examinations like Combined Higher Secondary Level, Combined Graduate Level, Central Police Organization Exam,etc. are conducted across various stages like Tier 1, Tier 2, and so on. The first tier for all of these exams have a somewhat similar exam pattern or syllabus. The CET will replace all these tier 1 exams.

B. Railways Recruitment Board

Indian Railways is one of the largest employers in the country when it comes to Govt jobs. The RRB too conducts various examinations like NTPC, Group D, etc. across various CBTs i.e. Computer Based Tests. The Common Eligibility Test will replace the CBT 1 stage for all the exams. 

C. Institute of Banking Personnel Selection Board

The IBPS conducts examinations for the recruitment of various banking posts like Clerk, Bank PO, Bank SO, etc. For all such examinations, the IBPS arranges a preliminary exam. The CET will replace all these preliminary examinations for all such banking posts. The further stages of selection i.e. mains, interview, etc. will be conducted by IBPS only.

D. Graduate & Undergraduate Level Jobs

The CET will be applicable not just for Central Govt job exams but also by recruitments conducted by various State Governments and Union Territories. The State/UT Governments also need candidates belonging to every educational background like graduate, 10th pass, and 12th pass. The respective exam conducting body can directly conduct the advanced selection stage once the CET has been cleared by the applicant. The press release regarding the same was released recently:

State/UT Govt Recruitments Through CET

Here are some of the exams for which the initial selection stage might be replaced by the CET:

Sr. No.

Exam Conducting Bodies

Matriculation Level

Higher Secondary/ Intermediate Level

Graduate Level


Staff Selection Commission


SSC Selection Post





Railways Recruitment Board

RRB Group D






Institute of Banking Personnel Selection



IBPS Clerk,


CET Score & Validity 

  • Please note that your CET score will remain valid until three years from the date of participation
  • You can take the CET exam again in the following years in order to improve your NRA CET Score 
  • Your CET score will define your aptitude ability and will be counted as Tier 1 or Prelims exam score 
  • For Tier 2, & Tier 3 you can select your desired exams and based on the CET Score you can further take the Tier 2 & Tier 3  
  • CET is only the screening test for CET SSC, CET RRB and CET IBPS exams
  • Your score will be eligible for State & UTs level Government exams 
  • Further, in the long run, the public sector undertakings (PSUs) and also the private sector will consider CET Score 

CET Eligibility Criteria 

The eligibility to apply for will be announced with the release of the official notification for CET important dates. It is expected that there will be no or minor changes in the eligibility criteria to apply for the Prelims/ Tier 1 CET test for Bank, SSC & RRB exams. Additionally, the age relaxation to various categories will remain the same, although the final notification is yet to be released on this. Read more about CET Eligibility here with all detailed information.

CET Age limit

As mentioned earlier, there will be no major changes in the age limit. The NRA CET will be conducted in three levels: 10th pass, 12th pass and graduates. The age limit and eligibility will be based on these three levels. Stay tuned to get the latest updates on CET Age Limit.

Step By Step Guide for NRA CET Recruitment Process 

  • CET Application Form: The application form will be released on the official site of NRA for various CET levels (namely 10th, 12th & Graduates) 
  • Download CET Admit Card or Hall Ticket: NRA will release the admit card for CET exam which can be downloaded online from its official website 
  • Appear for NRA CET Exam: The Prelims will be conducted by NRA 
  • Result Declaration: NRA will then release the CET result with cut off (sectional- yet to be announced)
  • Appear for Next Round of your Desired Exam: Based on the cut-off you can appear for the next stages of your desired recruitment- Bank, SSC, Railways or State Level Exams. 

NRA CET Syllabus 2021

The CET syllabus 2021 will be mostly dependent on the current exams for Bank, SSC & Railways. The final syllabus for the NRA CET will be released on the official website of the National Recruitment Agency (NRA). There will be one common CET Syllabus which is in-line with the existing preliminary examinations for Bank, SSC & Railways. 

CET Exam Pattern 2021

The exam pattern will be in accordance with the existing Preliminary Exam Pattern for Bank, SSC & Railways. All the three levels of CET exams (10th pass, 12th pass and graduates) will have separate exam patterns for common exams. Read more about CET Exam Pattern in detail here.

CET Exam Pattern

The NRA has not declared any specific exam pattern or syllabus for this Common Eligibility Test. The details regarding the same will be released in due course of time. The National Recruitment Agency will however conduct the following three types of CETs:

  • Matriculation Level (10th class)
  • Higher Secondary Level (12th pass)
  • Graduation Level 

The syllabus for these exams will be as per the Tier I/CBT 1/ Preliminary stages of the various exams which are conducted by the SSC, IBPS, etc. for respective educational levels. Hence the recruitment will be taking place in two phases i.e. NRA CET & Specialized Tiers by respective organizations.

No comments:

Post a comment